Life and Other Funny Things

Hope

I’ve been worked up about this post since Sandee tagged me. She wanted me to write about hope. At first, I was so excited. Sandee Harris, the author, tagged me! Then I realized that an author tagged me.  How would I ever live up to an author? I’m not as creative as her. I’m not even half as interesting. Let’s not even get started on grammar and punctuation.

But that’s what I do, I worry. I hope that someday I can stop worrying. I hope that people like me can just sit back and relax without worrying about the exact position they should assume to project the perfect laid back/relaxed image. I hope that people can just be happy.

That last sentence, it’s all I’ve come up with in the past week. I really honestly hope that people are happy. I think that it might be the real solution to everything horrible in the world. Happiness.

If parents are happy, their children have good, happy lives. If that mass murderer was happy at home, maybe with the loving wife and kids that he could kiss goodnight, he wouldn’t feel the need to kill anyone. Maybe it’s the answer to terrorism and war.

But what do I know, I’m just a girl sitting in her room worrying about people’s reactions to this. Why don’t you think about for a minute though?

If we were all truly happy with what we have, we wouldn’t need all these material things that make up the “good life”. Oil companies wouldn’t be working so hard to extract the little oil we have left on the planet. Global warming would be so far away that we probably wouldn’t even know what the word meant.

I suppose on the other hand, we can’t be entirely content with everything. We constantly hope for better. Better jobs, better homes, better technology. That’s what being human is all about I guess. Being content would probably just kill us. Just like before they found out cholera was water borne.

In a way I think it’s a good thing. It encourages innovation, making our lives easier. Hope for better is what most people live for.

I asked my Pregnancy Fetish Friend what hope is to her. She said “Hope is what should make you jump out of bed each morning. Hope is what should give you the bounce in your step. Without hope, what’s the point?”

I completely agree with her. What is the point?

I think that while the world is a messed up place, and it seems that humans as a race are out to completely destroy it, we’ve still got a lot to live for. Each and every one of us. There is hope for better.

 

This post is part of a blog relay started by Melanie CrutchfieldI think the relay ended on the 13th, but I’m going to pass it on anyway. I want to ask the lovely Lisa of Life With The Top Down because she’s one of the people who truly honestly cares about the world. In fact, go to her blog and help her sign a petition to preserve a piece of land near her home.

Here are the instructions for the blog relay:

Step 1: Write a blog post about hope & publish it on your blog.
Step 2: Invite one (or more!) bloggers to do the same.
Step 3: Link to the person who recruited you at the top of the post, and the people you’re recruiting at the bottom of the post.

16 thoughts on “Hope

  1. Thanks for this Miss F.! This is a good essay on how to find hope within ourselves amidst a world of turmoil. Maybe if we read enough about individuals striving for reasons to “jump out of bed,” it will be become a contagious idea that inspires us to contribute even to the larger world.

    It’s cool how the essays we write on hope plant ideas that we can pass along among ourselves. That’s communication at its best I think.

    Have a good one Miss Four Eyes!

    • I completely agree, it is communication at it’s best. I really want all these essays to help. Maybe somewhere one person is making a change in the world because of us. That would be absolutely fantastic!
      Thanks Sandee, you’re the best :)

  2. Pingback: Hope | Have You Seen My Glass Slipper?

  3. Stop worrying so much ;). I think the reason hope is so important is because we hope for something that has yet to happen. Something good. The reason we constantly hope for more is so that we perpetually have something to look forward to achieving, experiencing, etc.

    • I’m working on it. It’s kind of been my thing. I’m the one who makes sure everything is in perfect order. If I don’t, who else will? It’s getting a little out of control now.
      I like that, sums up hope wonderfully! Really looking forward to reading your post on hope :)

  4. Nice bit of hope, here. It’s the most simple ideas that seem the most complicated, but are also the ones that just might save the world.

    At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

  5. Pingback: Make Hopes Happen | 25ToFly

  6. Pingback: HOPE « Life With The Top Down

Leave a Reply

