Life and Other Funny Things

Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss

Happy Birthday, Dr. Suess!

Today is Dr. Seuss’s 108th birthday. I’ve loved him since I was a kid, and I love him now.

Reasons why I love him:

  • He’s awesome.
  • His signature is like a little kid’s, which is awesome.
  • His books are super awesome. Not just for kids, but also for full grown adults

I have a lot of memories with his books.  The first real book I read was Cat in the Hat which was 61 whole pages long! Yeah, I was reading big kid books. And I really thought that he was the Cat in the Hat. I mean, every time anyone mentioned Dr. Seuss, they’d have a picture of the Cat in the Hat, what’s a kid supposed to think?

The real Dr.Seuss

I still remember my dad reading me Dr. Seuss books before bed. They had these crazy illustrations, and my dad would make fun of them, it was loads of fun.
Not technically a book, but I had a Horton Hears a Who computer game, it taught me the alphabet.

My very favorite book is Green Eggs and Ham. I still love to read it. In book stores, I’ll read it to anyone who’s willing to listen. Sometimes when I’m bored on Saturday mornings, I really do put green food coloring in my eggs. You should try it, it will make you smile 🙂
To this day, whenever I’m sick I read Dr. Seuss. I don’t know why, I just do. It’s like a tradition. The Sleep Book still puts me to sleep, and I do really want to run a zoo, I think it could be fun!

But there would be too much poop to clean up.

The thing about Dr. Seuss is that he always had these subliminal messages in his books (okay maybe not exactly, but I never understood them when I was little).  He taught me that I am who I am, I and that’s pretty darn special. I learnt that being completely random and silly is a good thing and that bad things happen, the point is to pick yourself up and take a bat to your problems. My problems will just have to go away.

I love all of his books. But there is one quote that really stuck:

Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind

It’s something I think that all of us need to remind ourselves from time to time.

So heres to you Dr. Seuss! I will always love you and your cat!

P.S. The hat, the Cat in the Hat hat I mean, its cool. If I had a hat like that, I’d wear it all the time!

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss

  1. Dr. Seuss really is so important. One of my students walked up to me the other day and said she was going to go wonderful places because Dr. Seuss said she was going to (in Oh the Places You’ll Go). I love The Lorax and can’t wait to see it in theaters!

Leave a Reply

