Life and Other Funny Things

Get off your fat asses and lets stop this shit!

Did that make me sound tough? ‘Cause that’s what I was going for.

I wrote this post last week, but didn’t post because of all the criticism for this cause. According to some people the cause has been overhyped, and there are better causes out there. But I’m posting this anyway. It’s something worth fight for in the end. It is happening, whether or not the scale has been exaggerated.

Do you know about Kony 2012? My parents didn’t. They had no clue. I wouldn’t have either if I didn’t see it on YouTube. It’s upsetting really that something like this hasn’t reached everyone yet. It should have. So I’m trying to spread it now.

Kony 2012

Kony 2012 is a short film to promote the Invisible Children Inc’s ‘Stop Kony’ movement. I’m going to be completely honest and say that I didn’t watch the film. I just can’t do it. I saw some short clips, but I don’t think I’ll be able to take in the whole film. If you have the stomach for it, I suggest you watch it though.

The film is about the charity’s plans to arrest Joseph Kony. The little that I know about Kony is that he’s been ordering the abduction of children to become child-sex slaves and child soldiers. These children are required to kill their own parents, so have no homes to return to. When I first heard about this, I didn’t really know how to process this information. I mean, what kind of a man would do something like this to innocent children?! I still don’t understand why he’s doing all this. It seems he believes that he’s a good Christian, and wants Uganda to be a Christian nation. So he created a resistance group called the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) to fight against the Ugandan government; they’ve been at war since 1987.

I like children. I like the innocence. I like that when they say something it’s completely honest and there are no ulterior motives. I like that they don’t know yet what pain is, they don’t even completely know what fear is (unless you count the boogie monster). I wish we could all be more like them. I used to be like that. I kind of still am. I don’t know what pain is. Not really. Not real pain. I have never once in my life been slapped or hit. I have everything I could possibly want. I have had a perfect life, if there’s any pain then it’s the fear of having it in the future and being unprepared.

These kids know what it is. Think about it, the law has officers go into therapy if they see their partner shot. These children have killed their own parents. They’ve been physically abused by who knows how many people. After they’ve been kidnapped, the LRA use them as pack mules to carry supplies until they are too weak to walk, then they’re killed or simply left to die. When the Ugandan army goes to war with the LRA, the boys are used as decoys and sent to the front lines completely unarmed. The girls become wives of Kony (who is said to already have around 60) or his senior commanders. And trust me when I say that I use the word ‘wives’ loosely. The kids that try to fight the LRA have they’re noses and ears cut off, and I hear they have to eat their own flesh.

These kids need help. But no one knew about them until recently. Maybe some of you didn’t know about it.

The film called for a world-wide canvassing campaign, called “Cover the Night” for April 20.  The turnout for the event was smaller than expected, and many fewer people attending than had pledged to attend. They think it’s because there were no organized spots officially announced. But so what?! Can’t we just get off our fat asses and put up some goddamned posters?! From my college exactly five people showed up. Five. I have yet to express my disappointment in the rest of them. Words cannot explain how furious I am.

I want you think just for a second that you were one of those kids. 10 years old, maybe younger, and someone put a gun in your hand, aimed at your mother’s head, and asked you to shoot. You have no choice but to do as they say. You are completely, utterly helpless. Does the thought make you cry? Wouldn’t you wish that there was someone who could help you?

These kids need our help. And I think we can. I know a lot of you might think that putting up posters and writing blog posts isn’t going to do a lot, but what if by some miracle it did? What if we actually saved someone’s life?

The book Horton Hears a Who has a lesson, and it tells us that nobody is too small, every little bit counts. But if we keep thinking that all our efforts are useless, then we’re hopeless. A pathetic waste of human kind. We all have a voice, let’s use it. I ask you to pretty please help me with this and spread the word. It won’t matter what you do, maybe tell everyone you see on the street, maybe write a blog post, maybe just post it on Facebook. Just do something.

I don’t know if what I’m doing will help or not. I don’t know if I’m too late. I don’t know if this is a complete waste. But I’m going to try anyway. Better sooner than later, right? Plus, I don’t want to find out on December 31 2012 that they couldn’t stop him, and that I never did anything to help. I don’t want to feel like I just sat back and watched.

I really hope that you do too. Maybe, we might just end up saving the world. Just like Superman.

Superman

This could be you!

I’m asking you all to help me spread the word. How ever you feel like. I just really really want you to do something. Take a stand!

If you help, Kim Kardashian promises not to make any more reality TV

8 thoughts on “Get off your fat asses and lets stop this shit!

  1. Kony has been operating since the 19-freakin’-80s. So I have to wonder why there’s this sudden interest in his activities. The cynic in me notices that the United States just opened a massive new military base in Africa, and is busy getting itself involved in places where natural resources just happen to be. (Like the area in which Kony operated.) So I have to wonder if this Stop Kony campaign doesn’t originate from Langley rather than the cyberroots of the internet.

    • Okay, I’m going to be honest with you, I don’t know. Maybe you’re right. Maybe they’re just after the resources. Maybe they really honestly want to help the people. Maybe it’s something else entirely (aliens?). I don’t really know. But people are getting hurt, don’t you care even a little?

Leave a Reply

