Life and Other Funny Things

Guess it runs in the family

If I had any doubt before, I now know for sure that my Mom and her Mom are most definitely related.

My dearest Grandmother sent my mom handkerchiefs. I’m not exactly sure what you do with a handkerchief. When I blow my nose in a tissue I promptly throw it away. I do not keep it for all the snot to spread on the inside of my pocket so that when someone reaches inside they’ll have a nice little surprise (actually not a bad way to stop people from taking my car keys). Apparently they’re eco-friendly so that’s good.

But that’s beside the point. Guess how many there are? 12. It’s a pack of 12.

Handkerchiefs

Different colors, she says, because God forbid we use the same color twice in a row. What would people say?!

Someday, when I have a kid, I’ll get her a pack of 12 of something that she absolutely needs but doesn’t ever want. Then she’ll do the same for her kid, and so on.

17 thoughts on “Guess it runs in the family

  1. I found some embroidered white handkerchiefs at the dollar general the other day… I was with my grandmother who said, “What are those?” Did I mention that my grandmother grew up in a poor family on a farm in South Carolina? That might explain what she said…

  2. My dad is a hankie kind of guy (I don’t think that’s a good thing), but men’s hankies are boring. Women’s hankies are usually so much nicer. I don’t know if ladies used to blow their noses into them, but they used to come in handy when a lady needed something to drop and get a gentleman’s attention.

Leave a Reply

