Life and Other Funny Things

For the love of your healthy prostate

Men have a tendency of suffering in silence. They hurt, the little sniffle in their nose bothers them too, as does the excruciating pain after they’ve fallen off the roof and broken their back. They’ll never admit it though. I will never understand men and their aversion to visiting a doctor. Are you trying to be manly and sexy? Um, fear of doctors, not sexy.

The Rock Dwayne Johnson

“No, mommy, I don’t wanna go to the doctor!”

The most important man in my life, my father, has never cried past the age of 5. He’s never been weak or helpless. To him, he never falls sick and nothing is ever wrong with him. The man has diabetes and high sugar levels, but according to him “everything is fine, I am not a victim to diabetes!*gobbles up a twinkie*. When I was little, my mother would have to drag him to the doctor because he never went himself. Now I do it. Sigh, men. What are we going to do with them?

This month people around the world are encouraging men to suck it up and stop being a big baby get their prostates checked for cancer.

Today, cancer is more common than you think. Cancer.org says that 1 in 6 men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer during his lifetime. 1 in 6 men. That means it could be anyone.

It could be your best friend from high school, your neighbor, your father, your brother. Anyone.

People in my family have had cancer. My aunt passed away from it. She’d meant to get checked up, but ‘didn’t have any time’. She finally went when it was too late. My grandmother is currently being treated for it. My father’s friend and my other aunt are now cured of it. With early diagnosis and treatment, they are both cancer free and living good healthy lives (they’re now monitoring their kids just in case). It just goes to show that cancer does not mean the end of the world, it does not always have to result in death. You can be treated for it. Regular checkups have proven to be the first step.

I cannot stress enough how important it is to get a checkup. It doesn’t make you any less tough. It didn’t make my aunt tough to have delayed her appointment. It ensures that you stay strong and healthy. Regular checkups make sure that you get an appropriate diagnosis when and if something is wrong with you.

I will be dragging the men in my family kicking and screaming to the doctor. I think you should too. Save yourself and the other men in your life, and you can be just like Superman.

Superman's Prostate

The man wears his underwear on the outside because nothing is sexier than a healthy prostate

Please go get your prostates checked up, and maybe even the rest of your body while you’re at it. Do it because healthy prostates are sexy. Do it because your family needs you. Do it before it’s too late.

Do it for all the drunk college girls I’ll introduce you to if you do.

P.S. In honor of Movember, my phone now looks like this:

Mustache phone

I’m still working on my ‘stache. Until then, this is all I’ve got.

47 thoughts on “For the love of your healthy prostate

    • Thanks, glad you liked it!
      I completely agree with you, if only they would to go to the doctor for a screening. I really hope men start to understand out important it is. Maybe we should tell them that it’ll give them super strength?

      • The men who would avoid going to get the little P checked out probably already think they have super strength. Maybe if we told them it’s appealing to the ladies (sorta like when you see your guy doing dishes or sweeping the floor, they are just *that* much more charming)?

  1. Dragging and kicking! Yes, indeed. And then they still do not believe they need to be there. It is a sad time when they realize that the cancer may have been treatable if they had gone for their checkup earlier. Great post.

  2. This is a fantastic post. My hubby is the anti-man, he’ll run to the doctor for anything. Maybe I’m not giving him enough attention, but I’m grateful he has the sense to get himself checked out.

  3. Pingback: Full Throttle Movember « Doggy's Style

  4. I feel obligated to point out, as a card carrying geek, that Superman does not wear that getup any longer, even though I recognize that is totally not the point. I’m sorry; I have GCD (geek compulsive disorder).

  5. about five years ago i insisted my doctor give me that ol’ prostate check up thing. she said, “you don’t need it.” i said i needed it. she said, “okay, bend over.” she put on a rubber glove, lubed her finger, and jammed it up my ass. she squirmed it around, un-fucked me, and said, “that’s probably the smallest one i’ve ever felt.” then she left a $20 on the table and moved to the next room.

  6. I’m really late to this post, sorry! Great post— and if the promise of an intro to drunk college girls isn’t enough of an incentive, I don’t know what isMr. Weebles is the only man I know who isn’t resistant to going to the doctor. He’s not quite at the age yet where he needs to go for The Exam, but I know he’ll go.

  7. I came here for the drunk college girls. Where do I sign up? In all seriousness, the macho attitude has everything to do with it. I’m not looking forward to the “exam”. I still have a few years left, thankfully. I will relish every day until then.

    Best prostate exam outburst I’ve ever heard (not first hand, thank god):

    (While procedure is being conducted)
    Patient: “You know, if we lived in Arkansas, we’d technically be married right now.

    *rimshot*

Leave a Reply

