Guest Post

Naked Guests

Please welcome my very first NAKED guest blogger, Rohan! Rohan is one of the sweetest, happiest people I know. Be sure to check out his blog, I’m sure you’ll leave a little bit happier! 

Howdy! In honor of my gracious host, the lovely MissFourEyes (aka The Naked Blogger), I am indeed blogging naked! Yes, sitting here at my desk naked as the day I was born but somewhat bigger and older and hairier. The subject of today’s post was inspired by MissFourEyes (who was inspired by Twindaddy of Stuphblog (who was inspired by BreezyK of The Camel Life)), and that is to write a F**k It List!

Topless

There I am, any excuse will do to get naked!

We’ve all heard about the Bucket List, writing a list of things you want to do before you die, but as a student of Stoic Philosophy (and an apprentice of common sense) I know that it’s not really up to me whether or not I get to do everything I’d like to. No matter how hard you try, the completion of a Bucket List requires a big dollop of help from outside events and circumstances!

So in the name of empowering ourselves and focusing on the things we can do, the things that rely only on ourselves, I’m sharing with you my F**k It List, a list of things that I no longer do or give a F**k about! We can’t always choose what we want to happen, but we can certainly choose what we won’t do anymore 🙂 I now present to you the 7 things I’ve said F**k It to over the past while!

1. What People Think About Me Anymore – I finally did it! I no longer pander to people in order to gain acceptance or love. If you don’t like me as I am that’s cool, there are plenty of other people out there for ya and I’m happy to hang out with myself until people who dig me turn up 🙂 This was tough too as I’ve always been really insecure with my hair – in high school I once punched a good friend in the face for calling me “Mrs Part” after a nasty new do – but now I say F**k It, it’s my hair and I’ll do what I want 😛

donald trump hair

What I think I look like

2. Lies – I can’t lie! At least not to people close to me. Like Alex in A Clockwork Orange I feel physically sick when I even think about dishonesty. In my younger days I was a terrible fibber, but one way or another my lies would always be the ruin of me. These days (I think mainly due to practicing an exercise called Focusing by Eugene Gendlin) it’s a very different story, I just can’t do it, and my life has never been happier, simpler and more stress free than now that I’m totally open and honest! Just say no to lies kids!

Clockwork oranges

Twilight and lies give me the same feeling

3. Toxic People – There are two kinds of people, those who give you energy when you are around them, and those who drain your energy. I used to love being “the nice guy”, and this meant (in my mind) giving my time to a whole lot of people who simply sucked me dry (emotionally!). Not anymore, sorry guys but I like positive feedback loops, I like relationships that spiral upward as both people feed each other good energy 🙂 I don’t think I’m a bad guy, I’m not cruel or indecent to people, but I will avoid those who bring me down. I’ve definitely gotten a little more selfish with my time and energy.

toxic avenger

The original toxic person

4. Parties or Clubs – The first thing I usually say to someone new is “Hi I’m Rohan, the most boring person you will ever meet”. That’s right, noisy pubs and clubs are like bug spray to me, and the same goes for big parties and social engagements. My idea of a good time (with other people) is a nice cup of tea, a lovely stroll or a sit in a park on a sunny day. I’ve always wondered how people can have a proper conversation over the noise in a bar or club. It’s funny too because I’ve played well over a hundred live gigs. I like being on stage and doing a job, but once the gig’s done, sorry ladies and gents I’m heading home for a nice cup of Barry’s tea to wind down. No after parties for me!

Socially Awkward Penguin

Yup

5. The TV/News – I used to keep up with the new, I sure did! I could tell you what was going on all over the place, but it drained me, it made me frustrated, cynical and angry. Those are all great if you’re going to do something about it, a revolutionary should definitely be angry and cynical! But a lazy poet who doesn’t like clubbing? He should be much more chilled out 🙂 So yeah these days I couldn’t give a damn what’s going on, that circus has been going since Ancient Rome, I’ve unsubscribed from the gloom and misery. Every now and then I check back to see if anything has changed. Nope, same heads talking about the same crap. The only news I keep up with these days is video game news. Who’s ready for the Sony PS4 announcement press event on the 20th?!?!?! Squeeee ^_^

Justin Bieber

Don’t know how I do without it

6. Society’s Pressures – Hey you know the way we are all supposed to get a job, get married, have kids, buy a house, send them to college etc? Well I’m kinda playing it by ear. I know there are loads of people who really dig everything I mentioned above, and that’s great! But it’s not for everyone, and yet there is immense pressure from everywhere to fall in line. I used to pretty much see my life going that way, now I’m not sure. I’m just along for the ride. I saw The Big Lebeowski again recently and I really got it this time, I used to think The Dude was a lovable loser, now I see that he is the winner. There’s nothing wrong with kids and houses, as Shakespeare wrote in Hamlet “There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so”. But those of us who might not be into that should definitely not have to feel guilty about it 🙂

Air pressure

Even the air is pressuring us!

7. Music Production – I’ve been producing music, my own and others, for about 8 years. I’m saying F**k It for a while and putting my time into writing, and then live gigging later in the year. I’ve recorded 10 solo albums but now I wanna write 10 books! I love recording but like anything if done long enough it loses it’s luster. Besides the next studio I build I want to be somewhere warm, near a beach, with a pool, yeah that sounds good 🙂

hanszimmer

My next studio

And there we have it, my 7 things F**k It List. Remember folks it’s not as much about what you do, as it is about what you choose not to do. We can’t always choose to place ourselves into great situations, but we can often choose to remove ourselves from ones that aren’t helping, or that we aren’t enjoying!

I’d like to say a big thanks again to MissFourEyes (you super star), thanks for having me and for being such a fun blogger. Your posts always bring a smile to my face! 🙂

Finally I’d just like to recommend this naked blogging thing, not too bad, kinda liberating. Everyone should give it a try at least once! Just be sure to knock the heating up if you’re in Dublin in the middle of winter!

Take care 🙂

Rohan.
Want more Rohan? I’d start here:

91 thoughts on “Naked Guests

  1. I’m glad BreezyK inspired me to inspire the Naked Blog Goddess, and in turn, to inspire you. This is definitely a wonderful list and I concur (like an effin’ doctor) with every one of them. Well done, Rohan.

    • Good stuff! Keep it going 🙂 Oh #5 is a big one. Life’s tough enough without being constantly reminded of the problems of the world at large, and not being able to do anything about them!

      Thanks for the comment, glad you liked it 🙂

      Rohan.

      • it’s true isn’t it? full of death, misery and despair I guess that is what sell newspapers, and brings people to TV news.I am wondering if people like reading about other people bad news so they can feel relieved it isn’t happening to them.

    • Thank you Carrie 🙂

      Exactly, one of the few things we have a lot of control over in life is our ability to choose who we spend our time with, it’s a good idea to choose wisely 🙂

      Rohan.

  2. Love the list, Rohan. Sounds like you are taking control of your life and heading for greatness as an authentic self–just like Dude. haha.
    I am so impressed of your creative talents. 10 albums to complement 10 future books? You are a monster, my friend.
    Thanks to Miss Four Eyes for inviting such cool guests to her party (I mean house, since Rohan doesn’t like parties.) {{{Hugs}}} to both of you.

    • Thank you Kozo! Haha, the Dude is authentic and I like that, we only get to enjoy this incarnation once, might as well go for it with integrity and gusto. It’s not always easy, the road get’s very rocky sometimes but it’s worth it 🙂

      Haha thanks, yes, I’ve got two books done and out, and I’m working on another couple at the moment, very exciting and fun!

      And yes, definitely a house, rather than a party 😉

      Thanks for the lovely comment Kozo, all the best!

      Hugs.

      Rohan.

    • Kozo, U said it, the dude is a sign of the times. And a welcomed spirit at that, there a worldwide movement: Zen Dudeism IS THE True Religion Of Peace by The Church of the Latter-Day Dude. Really awesome message of “just chillin’ with oneness”. Love their bowling ball Tao symbol! http://dudeism.com/tao/
      Get ordained 4 free as a dudeist priest: http://dudeism.com/totd1.html
      Hey, the dude abides… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dudeism

      *Peace out* & ♥ Happy Valentines Y’all ♥

  3. There was humor in your list and it was very interesting to read as well! I totally I.D. with the lying thing — my dad always marveled at how I didn’t lie. There are the ‘colorful interpretations’ that we express in are human ability, but I’m not one for blatant lying. And naked blogging, is there any other way?

    • Thank you Sandee, glad you liked it 🙂 Hehe, yups I think everyone is allowed their own ‘colorful interpretations’ as you put it, but life sure is nicer when the big juicy lies are gotten rid of!

      Haha, naked blogging is the best 🙂

      Rohan.

  4. I agree with pretty much all of the above (heartily, for Valentine’s Day). But now I feel that I should have read the post naked too. Oh well, under my clothes I was totally newd, so that will have to do, I suppose. Being naked too much just tends to lead to kids and houses, anyway, so perhaps it’s for the best. 😛

    • Naked too much? Is there such a thing? 😉 Haha, that’s the challenge, the maximum amount of nudey time with the minimum amount of houses and kids lol, it’s all about balance! Aww, I want to be clear though, I think there is definitely a virtue in raising a healthy family, it’s just not for everyone, and not all the time!

      Thanks for the comment Jenn, I hope you had a lovely Valentine’s 🙂

      Rohan.

  5. Lookin’ good there, buddy! 🙂

    A friend of mine once said to me that I’m not officially a home business owner until I’ve worked naked. After this post, now I might have to! LOL! I’m inspired but may just have to wait until spring when it gets a little warmer.

    • Thanks Maryanne 🙂 Haha, that’s a great quote, must remember that one. Well I’m definitely a home business owner now. I’m glad I waited till I was writing though, might have scared off a few of my recording clients if I tried it before.

      I guess I could have mixed naked, I wonder how they would feel knowing their song was mixed by a naked guy, bet that’s all they’d be able to think about when listening to it lol 🙂

      I would definitely recommend it, but do wait for warmer days, don’t catch a chill!

      Rohan.

  6. First of all I just love your name…kudos to your parents for picking such a cool name. Secondly, as soon as I saw your photo I thought “this guy has a lead singer body” before I read you were a musician. It’s always a good look in my eyes. Finally..your list is perfect, funny and very wise. Best of luck with your books!

    • Thanks for the lovely comment 🙂 Yeah I like my name too, even the spelling. It’s interesting actually, they decided to name me Rohan before I was born, the Irish meaning of Rohan is red hair and when I was born I had bright red hair. It has become much darker as I grew up, it’s auburn now. The other meaning is Sanskrit and it means ascending as in healing and medicine which I thought was quite cool when I found out recently 🙂

      Sorry for the life story, I just like my name too lol, so thanks to my folks for that!

      Haha nice intuition about the singing, gotta look the part right? 🙂

      I’m glad you liked the list and thanks! I’ll be sure to check out your blog properly when I get a minute 🙂

      Rohan.

  7. Lies… I wish kids would also feel ill when they try to lie. But they don’t. I think they see lying as some kind of challenge. I wonder if they make pills for that?

    • Me too, I feel your pain. I wish I hadn’t lied so much as a youngster, the truth would have saved myself and others a lot of time and energy. Alas the lies go on, and no I don’t think there’s a pill for it lol!

      Thanks for the comment Katie 🙂

      Rohan.

  8. I am already following Rohan, he is so cool! We are on the same page with this list. Starting last year, I have decided not to feel guilty anymore because I wanna travel the world instead of getting married and having kids. At least for now. It feels so good! :)) I think I am gonna write my own list, I feel inspired:)

  9. Spectacular, Rohan! Agree with all, esp.: toxic people, parties/clubs, lies and social pressures. This is the way of an enlightened person, Mr. Kindred Spirit! 🙂

    Media and news: my take – I need to stay appraised of the world developments, but I don’t watch any news on TV, nor read papers/magazines. I only follow the news via youtube, and only via GOOD alternative media, where you can get real news. A long time ago, I used to get upset over TV news as well – their job is to promote fear, because fear sells. When I figured it out, I unsubscribed from cable and all newspapers. Now, via Youtube, I control what and when I watch. Sometimes, just scanning headlines is more than enough. I became so good at it that most of the time I catch news from the aether – LOL.

    And you’re right, it’s same old, same old, BS everywhere.

    BTW, great blog, Miss Four Eyes. Followed ya!
    Cheers,
    Lada

    • Thanks for the lovely comment Lada I’m glad you agree with those points.

      I like your take on the news/media. Noam Chomsky says that we should keep up with the news, but read between the lines and understand the subtext and hidden agendas. Never take things at face value. I’ve read and watched a lot on how news media works and it’s pretty psychopathic. It’s great with the internet how you can pick and choose which sources you use to get your news fix.

      Thanks again, you rock Lada 🙂

      Rohan.

  10. Pingback: Shine On Award « prettywitgla33es

  11. Great list Rohan. I totally agree about the news one. It’s so depressing and can make one quite fearful with the amount of violence, rape and murder. I know it goes on but I don’t want to keep being reminded of it. I tend to listen to more music than watch TV these days.

  12. Pingback: Appreciating Nakedness | Miss Four Eyes

  13. I love this list. I’m totally going to try to adopt this stuff – well, I already did the house and kids thing, but other than that, hells yeah! I don’t want news, the only I get the less I care about what people or society think. I don’t like lies (I’m awful at telling them too), I don’t like parties, and I don’t like toxic people. I’m extremely boring and it’s fabulous. I also want said kids to have the same list. It’s a good one.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you liked the list! Yup same here, getting older is great, so many pressures seem to drop off. Of course a few get added, but what other people/society thinks is so not interesting anymore 🙂

      *boring an fabulous hi fives* 🙂

      Rohan.

  14. Pingback: rohan7things

  15. Pingback: 7 Things You Need To Know About Taking a Daily Nap! | rohan7things

  16. Pingback: Blogging, Writing, Nakedness | She Said What?

  17. Pingback: The Pants Pooper | Miss Four Eyes

  18. Pingback: Blog Birthday! Thanks For Making Rohan’s 7 Things a Success! | rohan7things

  19. Wow. We think a whole lot alike, dude, especially items 1, 3, & 5 (I used to be a news junkie, until the last OD almost killed me). Nudity is natural; blogging nude is only natural. Great fuck-it list!

Leave a Reply

