Life and Other Funny Things

Year One

February last year I started this blog. I didn’t know what I wanted out of it, I didn’t know what I wanted to say. I didn’t even know if I could do it.

I don’t really do deep very well, so I won’t bore you with the details. I was in a bad place. I wanted to get away from reality. And it worked. This blog helped me in more ways than I could have ever imagined. It isn’t just about writing. It’s about all the people who read it and the support. WordPress is truly one of the best things that has ever happened to me.

It’s funny how nothing of significant interest has changed in real life, but somehow I feel better about myself. I feel like I actually did something in the past year. I feel…good. I’ve discovered that writing is something I’d really like to pursue in the future. I’ve become slightly more confident about myself in the last year. I realized that everyone has a story and we don’t give nearly enough time to get to know each other, but once we do, even the most normal people can surprise you. I’m glad I know your stories.

It’s been one year, the first of many I hope, thank you all so much for making it so great. WordPress has become a huge part of my life, only because of you. All of you.
We’ve laughed together, and been Sad Pony together. Some of you have agreed to marry me (whee!), and we’ve even planned blog orgys together. It’s these silly little things that make me happy.

MFE thank you

A week ago, a friend of mine asked why I blog. Even after a whole year I really don’t have an answer. It’s just better, better than so many things.

I blog because it’s better than:

  1. Therapy
  2. Night clubs
  3. Shopping
  4. Silent rooms
  5. Meaningless mind-numbing conversations with real people
  6. Staring at my computer screen
  7. Working
  8. Facebook
  9. Playing seven hours of solitaire
  10. Being naked without doing anything productive
  11. Running
  12. Talking about your internet addiction (no, you have to blog about your internet addiction)
  13. Morning coffee
  14. Bedtime stories
  15. Reading CosmoSexy Underwear
  16. Drinking Cosmos
  17. Trying to diet
  18. Talking to yourself
  19. Trying to put on sexy underwear, without telling anyone about it (you put on sexy underwear, you tell the people of the internet)
  20. Texting for hours about nothing
  21. Sexting complete strangers



How long have you been blogging? And why do you do it?

Enhanced by Zemanta
123 thoughts on “Year One

  1. Miss Four Eyes,
    Le Clown has been here since day one… He remembers back then when you were just of child of the internet, learning how to walk, and drooling all over the blogosphere. You’ve come a long way, MFE… Look at you running everywhere now…
    Le Clown

  2. Yay!! Congratulations! I’m glad you started blogging because I LOVE your blog! Your stories always make me laugh and they inspire me. I started blogging 4 months ago. I was in a bad place and needed to do something to push me beyond my comfort zone…something to make myself feel better. It is amazing how much it has helped…for no particular reason! 😀 I’m so glad you’re here!

    • Only four months ago? Wow, you’re doing so well for such a short time! It’s so weird how blogging helps for no reason. I don’t understand it, but I know it works.
      Thank you, Amy! I’m so glad YOU’re here!

  3. I have been blogging for a majority of the time since 2001 when I had a livejournal account. I had that for about 9 years before killing it off. I had tried wordpress several times and had never really gotten into it so when I closed my G+ account I thought I would give it another go.

    I am not sure why I blog to be honest, sometimes I just want to walk away and never blog again, other times I am really into it. I wanted it mainly as a place where I could talk about what is on my mind however I find that that is often subdued because well… you never know who reads it.

    I’ve used it to rant and rave, get things off my mind or just write the odd very very short story(which I think I have deleted all of them).

    • Whoa! 12 years is a long time. Blogging is a great way to just get things out of your mind. Some days I want to start an anonymous blog and put all my rants and un-funny things there, just get them out of my head.
      So which do you prefer, Livejournal or WP?

  4. You honor bloggers everywhere with your fun, sexy, intelligent posts and kick-ass world view, partner!
    Keep up the good work.
    By the way, I blog to keep my sanity.
    And to meet cool naked chicks like you….

  5. Obviously I am glad you are a blogger, a unique and mysterious voice from the blogisphere. You do a great job of just being yourself, or just letting a part of yourself show, that is funny, awesome and neat. I really only started blogging in December, because by accident that is when I learned that there was a whole world of WordPress. It is a real world, but a much different world than every day. I look at the blogs I follow like on going dramatic, humorous or just realty programs that you get a little piece of each and every day. So thank you for allowing me to enjoy your blog program. I am sure there will be many more years of story telling and fun. 🙂

    • Oh Jon, you are far too kind. Thank you!
      WordPress is a whole other world. It’s amazing, I love it. You get to meet so many different people from around the world, with so many different things to talk about. I’m so glad I met you! Here’s hoping for many more years of story telling 😉

  6. Congratulations on your anniversary. We’re glad you’re part of the blogging community. Your posts make me happy that you blog. Thank you for sticking with it. Your list of reasons to blog is a good list. I’m very glad you blog.

  7. I blogged at first just to see if I could. One day in August I stumbled into the WP world, and it took a few weeks to get the nerve to comment on one of my favorite blogs. I saw this tight community (mine being the Gutter Bloggers) and wanted so much to have a voice in it. So I started in secret and wrote about what I know and what I thought would draw readers. I set goals for word counts, for awards, for stats…not like me. I talked a little more about feelings. Those posts are most rewarding to get comments on. But, I’m probably done now. For me a big part was that I didn’t have to share this, it was all mine. But browsers get left open, husbands find blog, and then husband wants to keep reading and posting. Joint blog? Maybe…

  8. It will be a year at the end of March for me. I started to promote my book and had no idea what I was signing up for! I think your blog is the grooviest however and I want to read more more more! I always look forward to coming in here.

    • Congratulations on almost a year, and a very successful one at that!
      I’m always looking forward to reading Auntie Sandee’s wacky stories! I LOVE them! Your blog is one of the best 😉

  9. What a great post, really quite touching 🙂 It’s great to hear the positives that have come out of blogging for you! And I adore your list of things that blogging is better than, I don’t think I can find fault with a single one, though I’ve never worn sexy underwear so I can’t really comment on that.

    I’m very happy you decided to start your blog back then, I always get a buzz when I see you’ve made a new post, and rush over to check it out 🙂

    Here’s to many more years and many more blogs from Miss Four Eyes!!

    Oh and next time there’s a blog orgy I’d better receive an invite!! 🙂

    Take care and happy bloggy birthday!

    Rohan.

  10. Congrats on the one-year birthday! I started a blog as a marketing tool, because participating in social media is part of my publishing contract. But what I hadn’t anticipated is how much I’d enjoy the interaction and the blogging community. It’s become so much more than I envisioned, and writing posts are always a fun way to spend a few hours.

  11. Yay! It’s been longer than a year for me if you count blogger (which I don’t) and it will be a year in like July or August for WP. Sad Pony is slightly less depressed to have you mention him! I love your reasons for blogging, especially the underwear. That is some seriously sexy underwear there. I do have to protest about the Cosmo mention, though. They publish only HARD hitting journalism there.

    It’s funny cause She’s a Maineiac also did a why do you blog post. She has some great questions on it. I blog cause my shrink said my stories of angst were funny. I was flattered – sort of.

    • You’ve only been blogging since August? You’re doing so great for such a short time! You’ve already been FP’d! *pomp pomp*
      How come you quit blogger?
      Sorry about the Cosmo thing. They really are very educational

  12. Congrats on your first anniversary! I’m coming up to three months now. I can’t imagine where I will be in another 9 months.

  13. Congrats on a year of blogging! I’m super happy to hear that it’s helped you get to a point where you feel good. That’s worth a ton of smiles and hugs and definitely more than seven hours of playing solitaire… maybe up to 8 or 9 even! 😉

    I started blogging August 1, 2012… I started because I had found out my wife was pregnant and I was thinking I was going to use blogging as a way to document that adventure… 7 months later and while I have spilled the beans on the imminent arrival of the kiddo on here, I haven’t really done much actual documenting. (I had a second site set up where I was writing up stuff specifically related to the kiddo, but was keeping it hidden until we had started to tell people and the wife and given her ok to let them be shared – but, she never had time to go back and read any of it, and eventually the lines of the two sites blurred and the kiddo showed up in the kingdom; so I haven’t updated the other site in a couple months – I’ll have to go back and pull some of those posts eventually – maybe they will be guest posts of sort in the first few months of the kiddo’s life interspersed in amongst the rest of the guest posts I’m trying to accumulate – and you are going to participate in that, right?!!). Now, I’ve rediscovered how much I love writing, and love the creative process and have been completely blown away by the wonderful people I’ve met. Like you, I’m hoping to continue on this blogging adventure for many years.

  14. CONGRATULATIONS!! I love your blog – keep going nekkid!

    I started blogging in the summer of 2012 – I don’t know why I do it. I have always loved writing letters and telling stories ~ and my closest friend started blogging … she gently guided me to my own blog and I’m still going. I love WordPress too and all the incredible people that I’ve found in this world.

  15. I love your blog. Reading your blog is also better than all the things on that list up thar.

    I started blogging because I wanted to write again. And like you, I can’t do much privately these days. I like it to be on the internet somewhere!

    You’re great and always fun to read. Congrats on year one!

    P.S. I love those pink panties. 😉

    • Thank you so much!
      It is the age of the internet. If you’re gonna write you might as well do it online 🙂

      P.S. Right?! Sexy, sexy
      P.P.S. I like the new gravatar

  16. ♥ It seems that lots of started blogging because of darker times… it’ll be a year for me this September. I agree with you on most everything, but morning coffee… noooo, morning coffee is better than anything, ever ever. 🙂 Happy Blogiversary, friend! (You can’t tell because it’s just the silhouette, but that heart icon that starts my comment is totally, completely naked.)

  17. So looks like I have spotted you towards the end of what seems to have been an amazing journey so far. Hope to join in your year(s) ahead…

    oh, and congratulations 🙂

  18. Sorry I’m late in the congrats! I love reading your blog and you are as cute as a naked puppy. 😉 I blog for many reasons also. Mostly because it keeps me sane, and I have ‘met’ so many really nice, cool, classy people like you! big hugs!

  19. You are awesome! Blogging has become a form of therapy for me, too. It really is so much better than so many things. It still amazes me and some of the best most supportive friends I have are those I’ve met through WordPress. Congratulations on a year of blogging. 🙂

    • It’s funny how complete strangers can become some of your closest friends when you wouldn’t be able to pick them out of a crowd. I like that about WP
      Thanks, Nicole! YOU are awesome 🙂

  20. One year in – well done you. I blog because … so many reasons, I can’t choose just one. I think I have mentioned a fair few myself over the last year. Congrats!

    • Thanks, Piper George! It’s so hard to choose one reason, and sometimes there isn’t one at all. We blog because….just because. We’re bloggers, it’s what we do 😉

  21. I didn’t realise you’d only been blogging a year. I started my blog about the same time, and I probably couldn’t tell you why I did it either. Sadly, I felt pretty sick and miserable for the second half of last year and couldn’t bring myself to write for months on end, so I don’t feel like I’ve been as successful a blogger as you are, but I can certainly understand how there’s something about it that just makes you feel more confident. I love your posts. You’re lighthearted and funny and genuine and I always look forward to hearing from you – and you’ve introduced me to other bloggers that I love as well, so thank you!

    • I love your blog, Queen Gen! I remember the first time I was there, you said that you had to match your underwear to your clothes, and that was it, I knew you were awesome!
      Thank you so much for your kind words, I’m so glad you’re back

  22. Congratulations! I’m so glad you’re here, because I love reading your blog, girl. Though, we’re going to have to disagree about the drinking cosmos, thing. It’ll be a year for me in September. I don’t get billions of likes or comments, but as someone who shied away from sharing her writing for so long, it’s been incredible to have such loyal followers. I’m sure you feel the same.

    • Thanks, Katie!
      The number of comments I get continue to surprise me everyday. People are here! They’re actually reading my stuff!
      I’m so glad you started sharing your writing on the internet, Katie. I have so much fun reading your blog!

  23. It will be about a year for me in July I think. The blog is also a big part of my life. I love all the people here and that people are accepting and think the best of you. It’s very life-affirming. Good for you. It is a great accomplishment to maintain a blog and keep at it, and keep writing. Congrats!

  24. I’ve been blogging for about a year, too. Why? Got shamed into it. Well, okay, so it was more the dragging and kicking type of start. Sigh. Apparently, writers have to have some sort of presence in the digital world where potential editor- types can see what you’re about. Apparently, they’re still looking. . .. And I do love your blog, BTW! You’re hysterical!

  25. Congratulations and thanks for being you! Love the new look of your page by the way, especially the glasses on the side…very Miss Four Eyes if I do say so myself. Cheers to all things wonderful as you head into year 2…with or without clothing!

  26. I’ve been blogging nearly 2 years. Helps me forget my completely uninspired job. It also helped me recover from trauma after my FarmVille crops died. (Of course)

    Too late for the orgy?

  27. Congrats!
    You are getting soooo old!!
    It’s gonna be a year in May for me, I’m just a baby.
    And I blog because it relaxes me and because I can’t see people rolling their eyes at me.

    • Thanks, Leo! I’m a big girl now! Soon you’ll be old just like me 😀
      It’s funny how something so simple can relax you. Meditation on the other hand never works for me. This does. How odd.

  28. Blogging has also changed my life and reading blogs like yours gets me going for sure. You have a wonderful voice and I am happy we get to hear it through blogging! Happy One Year Chica!

  29. Congrats for reaching your first anniversary and keep it up! Blogging has improved my life a lot as well and it’s almost about the same things: self-confidence… Indeed the wordpress community is so friendly, so welcoming… It feels so good to be away from real life for a while… I also rediscovered my passion for writing 🙂

  30. I’ve only been doing it since November of last year. I needed to vent family Thanksgiving frustrations or something. I was making strangers chuckle on FB, but it wasn’t the best forum for me so I thought I’d give this a go. I never expected to enjoy it. At first I was writing for myself and to keep stories the kids will hopefully enjoy hearing/reading/telling later in life. Then I got addicted to the little orange notifications and have enjoyed “meeting” new people who also blog. There are some amazing bloggers on WordPress. I’m not one of them, but I have fun!

    • Those little orange notifications are what make me wake up in the morning, it’s just so exciting! And I love the idea that years later someone will read all my silly stuff. So much better than an old time diary.

  31. Hey there Miss! A long time ago I signed up to your blog, only my email subscription thingy was wonky so I never received notifications and never read it 😦 Until now that is! I’m so happy to say I feel the same about blogging that you do. I’ve been doing it almost two years, and this little community of WordPress truly makes it worthwhile. While on my blogging adventure, I moved to a new place and didn’t know anybody, but it was awesome to realize I had some amazing friends on WordPress supporting me while I made new friends in the real world.

    • Hi there! The notification problems seem to be happening to everyone, but I’m glad everything’s working now! Blogging is wonderful, and the WP community makes it so much better. I don’t it’d have half the attraction if people like you weren’t here 🙂

  32. Congrats on the year. I feel the same way. People ask why you blog and I say why not, it makes me happy. Do I need a better reason? I’ve been blogging for two years now and I love all of my blogging buddies. Happy blogging!

  33. I’m new to your blog but have enjoyed reading a couple of your posts just now. A belated happy blogging anniversary!

  34. In the words of Graham Greene, “Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose, or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic and fear which is inherent in a human situation.”

    I think I know what you mean in your post about how blogging has helped you.

    Heartfelt apologies at being quite so pretentious with the quoting and the Graham Greene-ing. I recommend you imagine some swearwords to restore the balance.

    • Haha, no need for swearwords, the Graham Greene quote was perfect. That’s a good point though, I wonder how they escape the madness. Or maybe those who write, compose, and paint are built with extra crazy that find the need to get away from?

Leave a Reply

