Movies/TV

Things I thought while watching Man of Steel

I watched Man of Steel on Friday. The best part  was how the three girls sitting in front of me thought it would be nice to tell everyone exactly what they were thinking during EVERY SCENE. Funny thing, it was always the same sentence.

So hot3

Thank you for that, ladies. You’ve inspired this post.

Things I thought while watching Man of Steel in chronological order:

  1. No! Not the dog! Save the dog!
  2. I can’t wait until someone makes a parody of this movie.
  3. Hey, she looks like my mom! (I don’t know what inspired this. The woman I was talking about looked nothing like my mom)
  4. I ❤ science fiction. (just as the three young ladies gave out a synchronized sigh)
  5. I hope I get abducted by aliens some day.
  6. If Superman bumps against a building, will it create a domino effect with the other buildings?
  7. Sci-fi movies have gotten so much better in the last 10 years alone, I wonder what they’ll be like in the next 10 years.
  8. Huh. So if he bumps into a building, he goes right through!
  9. (as a car gets flipped over) Oh no. Poor car. The guy must’ve tried so hard to make those car payments.
  10. (during a city-destroying action sequence) No! Not the pretty buildings!
  11. What’s the insurance policy when you claim “destroyed by superhero”?
Enhanced by Zemanta
87 thoughts on “Things I thought while watching Man of Steel

      • LOL. Law students do that too. A lot. “Who’s going to pay for all this?” I remember a crime movie that will remain nameless where I was muttering throughout the thing about all sorts of procedural errors and my friend went to stand at the back of the theater for a while. (it was a really bad, bad police procedural). Or you watch “The little mermaid and come up with seven reasons Ariel’s contract for the voice with the sea witch is unenforceable

  1. Now I have to watch this movie. When I found out it was Henry Cavill playing him (a la the Tudors) I admit I thought okay if it really sucks at least there will be eye candy. And a lot of the Superman movies have sucked. But I can’t imagine the entire movie going OMG HE IS SO HOT DID YOU KNOW HE IS HOT OMG I HAVE NO OTHER THOUGHTS MY VAGINA IS SPEAKING FOR MEEEEE!

    I’d be willing to make a parody of the movie! Or watch it and riff on it the entire time. I’m nice that way. Much more fun than noting 5,000 times the actor is like so hot.

    • I admit, he is nice to look at (but then he shaved, and it was gone. I liked the beard!). But there was more to the movie!

      Make a parody! I would read yours for sure 😀

      • I love Riff Tracks (and no, I have no idea how to spell that). I love that now they just sell the audio separately so that they can do any movie they want without violating any rights to anything. You have to watch twilight… it was so amazing with the riff track… and if you have no idea what I’m talking about… let me know… and I will share something with you that will change your life.

  2. I think in the insurance world, such destruction is known as an “Act of Zod” 😉

    I was also wondering how a five-minute chase through the city could cause billions of dollars of damage and at least hundreds of deaths with apparently no problem, yet Superman is suddenly worried about 4 people about to get laser-eyed in front of him. (I did like the movie overall though)

  3. Did you enjoy the movie? Superman is my favourite superhero, probably because of the whole Daily Planet element. But the movie has not come out in New Zealand yet 😦 Did Amy Adams do a good job as Lois Lane?

    And I concur! Sci-fi movies are amazing this decade! So many to love and enjoy!

  4. So. Was it worth the ticket price? How was the film? Apart from the three girls and the hotness of Superman? I haven’t seen the movie yet and don’t know if I will. I’ve heard the special effects and special. Did he save the dog, BTW?

  5. I loved the movie. Of course I’m a rabid Superman fan so…

    I must admit, there were a few times when I thought…damn, he is hot! Lol

    My favorite part however was what happened to me after the movie – I wore my Superman t-shirt with a cape to the movie, which of course brought on a lot of stares and whispered comments, but the best was this little old lady to came up to me afterwards and said, “I love it! He’s really something, isn’t he?”

    Indeed he is, lady. Indeed he is. 😀

    P.S. I was like seriously? You’re risking your life for the dog? Really?

      • Haha me too. I smile every time I think about it. And oh yes…any excuse to wear a cape…I’ll take it.

        P.S. He clearly wanted to. I thought he would save him too. Instead I found myself half shouting “Noooo Jonathan!” For some reason, no matter which Superman show it is – the movie, Smallville…whatever. Jonathan’s death always makes me teary, because the massive effect it has on Clark.

  6. I kept thinking it was funny that they had to destroy Metropolis and Smallville in order to save the world. And at the end, did he repair both those cities, because it seemed like when he went to work at the Daily Planet, everything was back to normal. Awesome movie though!

  7. I don’t think he’s that hot.
    I mean, I still would eat him if he insisted, but that’s it.
    -No Superman, not now, I have a headache.
    -You said you want head Leo?
    -Ohh Superman, ok, but only this time.

    My mom looks like the witch from Once Upon a Time, and funny enough, my mom’s name is Regina.
    When the show aired I called my mom and said “Mom, you are a witch! An evil witch!”
    Hung up and send her a message with a picture.

    • Leo you crack me up! I thought he was kind of hot at the beginning, but then he shaved (I liked the beard) and the three girls went on and on, and now anything that was there is gone.

      Haha! How did she react to that?

      • Ohh, she’s knows me, she told me she was expecting a photoshopped picture and was actually surprise on how much Regina looks like her, even the hairdo is the same.
        Next time I see my mom I’ll take a picture with her and use it to fool people.

  8. I haven’t seen Man of Steel, but I feel like I did because my boyfriend was telling me about how bad it was all weekend. We started watching the 1977 Superman movie with Christopher Reeve. (OMG HE IS SO HOT!)

  9. Wow you’re getting good at those pictures!! I haven’t seen the movie but I think it looks really cool, even as not much of a Superman fan. How many eyes our of four would you give the movie?

    * Super nudey hugs* *adds super hero cover to insurance policy!*

    Rohan.

    • Thanks, Rohan! You should’ve seen me after I finished the doing the popcorn. I was so excited “I illustrated popcorn! POPCORN!!” (I may have had a tad too much coffee then)
      I would give it 3 eyes! While not the best superhero/sci-fi film ever, it was pretty good.

      *super nudey insured hugs*

  10. Hey MFE. I just got an email from your email that was also sent to lots of other contact. It contained some gibberish and a link that didn’t work. I hope your email hasn’t been hacked. It might be a good idea to change you password just in case 😉

    Rohan.

  11. Saw this last night. It was visually great, but we’ve seen so many superhero movies, that has lost its effectiveness.

    The story just didn’t do it for me. I know they wanted a clean break from previous Superman movies, but still, it seemed like they were making changes just for the sake of changes.

    • It wasn’t the best superhero movie, but I liked it, it wasn’t so bad. They could have made it better though. Like you said, after all these superhero movies, it’s lost its effectiveness. Maybe if it had come out a few years ago, people would have been able to appreciate it more.

  12. hahaa! Love it! I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I know my experience will be that much more enriched now! I would totally be concerned about the dog and the amount of effort said car owner put into maintaining his car… 🙂

  13. Pingback: My Man of Steel Review: In Ten Super Bullet Points. | You've Been Hooked!

  14. Super job, partner!
    I loved this and so I plugged you in my latest post.
    (Not to worry, it was a virtual plugging and so it doesn’t violate my marriage vows or any state laws.)

  15. Okay, that first item has me rethinking any desire I might have had to see the movie (which wasn’t much, to be honest). I can’t handle stuff involving animals. I only made it through the end of “The Dark Knight” by hiding my eyes when the vicious dogs attacked.

    • Oh don’t worry. The dog was in a car during a tornado (completely safe and unharmed), they saved him. The whole thing lasted 3 minutes tops.
      I don’t remember the dog scene from Dark Knight. But I don’t like it when animals die in movies either. I’m almost in tears when stories end with “and he saved their lives, but Sammy never made it out of the fire”

  16. Although I have no desire to see this movie (not much into super heroes….although I DID like Iron Man. Your thoughts during the movie were much more interesting than those of the 3 girls in front of you. 🙂

  17. The first of your list reminded me of when I first started watching Season 1 of LOST. There’s a part near the end of the season where a couple people are leaving on a raft, but they have to leave the dog behind.

    The dog swims after them and his owner is all, “Go back! Go back!”

    Saddest part of the entire series for me. I love my stupid dogs.

Leave a Reply

